There are no Scholarships Available at This Time,


MAFLA World Language Teacher of the Year

Individual members, local language associations, and education collaboratives are invited to submit a nominee for the MAFLA World Language Teacher of the Year (TOY) award.

TOY is intended to elevate the status of our profession and to create opportunities to recognize our most accomplished world language teachers and language advocates.  The Teacher of the Year Program has created and sustained opportunities for world language advocacy in Massachusetts and beyond.  Moreover, it is intended to create as many opportunities as possible to increase the visibility of the importance of learning languages and cultures to the general public.

Successful candidates must be full-time language educators who spend at least fifty percent (50%) of their time in direct teaching during the year of application with an expectation of teaching during the next two (2) years.  All candidates must be MAFLA members to be eligible for the award.

Evaluation of Candidates:

• The MA World Language Teacher of the Year will be selected based on the portfolio's evidence of the teacher's ability to communicate ideas clearly, commitment to the profession, and professional growth.
• Finalists will be interviewed by members of the MAFLA Teacher of the Year Committee via Zoom at a mutually agreed upon time and will be announced during the Annual Fall Conference in October. 

Click   MaFLA TOY 2025 or all details and requirements for this award

MaFLA Teacher of the Year Past Winners

New Teacher Commendation

MAFLA’s mission encompasses the mentoring, support and professional growth of new teachers in the profession. This commendation awards a MAFLA membership to the honored new teacher. Deadline:  June 1

New Teacher Commendation

Distinguished Service Award

Do you know someone who has provided exceptional and meritorious service to the world language profession in Massachusetts? If so, consider nominating that individual for MAFLA Distinguished Service Award. Nominations should be submitted through this link.

Please note the DSA Rubric below. Deadline: June 1

DSA Winners

DSA Rubric


MAFLA Service Awards

Do you have 25 years of service as a world language teacher?  Are you retiring this year? If so, let MAFLA honor you.  Submit your information here.

These awards honor retiring foreign language teachers and those with 25 years of service in the foreign language teaching profession are presented at the Annual Meeting each year.

Deadline:  September 16, 2024


NECTFL/MEAD Leadership Fellows Program

The Northeast Conference, in collaboration with its 14 state association members, sponsors a program designed to identify potential leaders in the profession and to support the development of their potential. MaFLA has been authorized to select the awardee from Massachusetts.  For application details click here.  Click here to email applications or for more information.

Deadline:  Nov 1, 2024